Skip to main content

Water Plant History

Government > Departments & Services > All Listings > Utility District > Divisions > Water Treatment > Water Quality > Water Plant History > Water Plant History


The history of the Riviera Beach Water Treatment Plant goes back to the 1950s. The construction of the Water Plant, one of the most important events in the history of the Utilities Department, was finished in 1958.

"One of the most modern water treatment plants in the county will be dedicated here Sunday by city officials. Area residents are invited to attend the brief 2:00 PM dedication ceremony and tour the entire plant that has been constructed at a cost of $350,000. Funds for the plant were raised by the sales of revenue bonds that will be paid off after a three year period.

The bond issue will be paid by revenues obtained from the sale of water over that period. City Councilmen anticipate sufficient profits from the new plant to pay for it and direct taxation will not be necessary. Located at Blue Heron and the railroad, the new plant has a 3.5 million gallon per day capacity, with a peak capacity of 4 million gallons per day. Peak loads at the present do not exceed 2 million gallons per day."

- Gulf Stream New, November 6, 1958


Contact Information 

Hours of Operation

City of Riviera Beach Utility Special District

600 West Blue Heron Blvd.

Riviera Beach, FL 33404

Monday- Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone: 561.845.4185

Fax: 561.840.7292

Email: utilities@rivierabeach.org


Customer Service

(561) 845-4050

 

Emergency After Hours:

Water &/or Sewer Breaks (nights, weekends & holidays)

Phone: 561.845.4187 

 

Administrative Staff

 

Jonathan Batista

Acting Executive Director of Utilities

Email: jbatista@rivierabeach.org

Phone: 561.845.4185

 

Luecinda Monroe

Office Manager

Email: lmonroe@rivierabeach.org

Phone: 561.845.3489

 

John Armstrong. P.E.

Senior Utilities Engineer

Email: jarmstrong@rivierabeach.org

Phone: 561.845.3457

 

David Danford

Water Treatment Plant Superintendent

Email: ddanford@rivierabeach.org

Phone: 561.845.4051

 

Larry Brown

Water/Sewer Systems Superintendent

Email: lbrown@rivierabeach.org

Phone: 561.845.4177

Pay Bill Online
Policy and Procedure